2018 SUMMER MEETING REPORT Community College Issues Committee July 19-20, 2018 Doubletree Hotel – Austin, Texas

Committee Members: Denny Yarbrough, Christy Johanson, Brandi Havens

The Community College Summer Meeting attendance included 187 registered attendees. Registration fee was \$125.

The following sessions were presented:

TACRAO President Welcome – Irene Robinson, Past President

THECB Hot Topics

Summary of 5-Year Data Review

Competency Based Education

8-Week courses

Excessive Hours "Relief"

Change in Excess Hours Methodology for CTC's including new additions of

CBM001

Field of Study Curricular

Presented by: Julie Eklund, Jenna Cullianane Hege, Victor Reyna, Melissa Humphries

The National Student Clearinghouse - Presented by Joe Roof, Julie Esau, Shelby Stanfield

Assistant Commissioner Roundtable - Presented by Julie Eklund and Jerel Booker

Dual Credit Updates - Andrew Lofters

TSI and Developmental Education – Susanne Morales-Vale, Kelan Morgan

Legislative Updates – Chris Reed

Birds of a Feather: Software Users Groups

Residency Updates/Residency 101 - Kathy Cordova

Hazelwood Update - Charles Bryant

TACC Legislative Update and Texas Success Center - Kristi Short and Dustin Meador

The Committee appreciates the help of the following volunteers who assisted with the meeting and registration check-in:

Tyler Junior College - Stephanie Mayo, Crawford Reyes

Conference Costs:

Income from Registration - \$23,208.34

Expenses:

Doubletree - \$23,750.69 Refunds (2) - \$250.00 Total - \$24,000.69

Denny Yarbrough will remain on the committee serving as chair for one more year due to Christy Johanson stepping down from the committee. Brandi Havens will be in charge of registration for the 2019 CC meeting.

The committee expresses our sincerest appreciation and gratitude to the TACRAO President, President-elect and Executive Committee for the support given to the committee and the Community College Summer Meeting. I would like to thank everyone involved in making the 2018 CC meeting a success. Could not have done it without everyone's help.

Respectfully submitted, Denny Yarbrough Chair 2018 Community College Issues Committee