TACRAO Strategic Enrollment Management Report

Submitted by Committee Chair, Troy G. White, M.Ed. (East Texas Baptist University)

SEM Committee Session Planning:

The SEM Committee met at the 2018 TACRAO Conference in Ft. Worth and began the process of brainstorming ideas for session topics for the 2019 conference in Galveston. One of the key elements discussed during this time was building upon existing interest of topics and ideas being discussed at the current conference. Everyone seemed to feel there was a lot of "buzz" around certain topics like LEAN and leadership within enrollment management. Several of the committee members had already approached various presenters about doing so the next year. This made for a very fruitful and productive meeting.

2019 SEM Pre-Conference Workshop:

Several ideas were discussed for the 2019 Pre-Conference SEM Workshop, but after some discussion, a unanimous decision was reached to bring Dr. Boyd Bradshaw, Associate Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management and Chief Enrollment Officer at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI). Dr. Bradshaw will be presenting on the topic of reverse engineering SEM to achieve GREAT outcomes for students. This process begins with the end in mind and working backward to develop supporting student outcomes. We are excited to have Dr. Bradshaw and his 20+ years of extensive experience devoted to the specialized field of enrollment management presenting this workshop.

At the time of this report being written, a total of 18 have registered to attend the workshop.

Fred Russell SEM Scholarship:

On July 16, 2019, the SEM Committee sent out a Call for Applications to the TACRAO Listserv for prospective Fred Russell SEM Newcomer Scholarship recipients. Regular reminders were sent up until the deadline of August 20th, 2019. A total of 26 applications were received, and on August 26th, the SEM Committee members were sent the applications, separated by institution type and position. A Google Forms survey was created as the voting method, and after all members cast their votes, the following were selected as recipients of the scholarship:

- 1. Cara Hogan Odessa College
- 2. Angela Hearell North Central Texas College
- 3. Shelby Holloway University of North Texas
- 4. Amanda Brown Texas Tech University
- 5. Robert Benavides Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Each of the recipients will be attending the SEM Pre-Conference Workshop, and the scholarship awards will be presented at the awards luncheon on Monday, November 4th.

Notes	from	the	Chair:
-------	------	-----	--------

I am honored to serve on this committee filled with great professionals across our state. Over the past two years, we have been very excited about the new and refreshing topics put forth for the annual Pre-Conference Workshop, as we have attempted to think "outside of the box" on SEM ideas. During this year's conference, I hope to meet with our members to discuss ways of attracted more attendees to this workshop, as we seek to continue our efforts of bringing new, relevant, and engaging topics.

SEM Committee Members:

- Chrissy Gonzalez Texas A&M University-Texarkana
- Jamie Hansard Texas Tech University
- Bryan Heard University of Houston-Clear Lake
- Rebecca Perfecto University of North Texas
- Sherry Wells Lamar University
- Troy G. White, chair East Texas Baptist University