TACRAO 2021 Nominations and Elections Committee Report

The 2021 Nominations and Elections Committee members were: Michelle Walker, chair, Becki Griffith, chair-elect, Sheila Gray, Joe Papari, and Blanca Guerra.

In March 2021, the N&E Committee approved the following timeline for the nomination and election cycle:

April 15 – May 7 – nomination forms open (this reduces nomination time by one week)

May 10 – May 14 – notify nominees and provide Activity Form to those who agree to be considered May 17 – June 4 – Activity Forms due

June 7 – June 11 – provide forms to committee members for individual review

June 21 – June 25 – schedule N&E Committee meeting to determine slate to be recommended to TEC

First week of July – provide draft slate of nominees to TEC

The nomination period for the following positions opened on April 15 and closed on May 7, 2021:

President-elect Vice President for Admissions Secretary 2022 Nominations and Elections Committee

The open date was delayed slightly to allow for the launch of the new TACRAO website. An email was sent via the TACRAO listserv requesting nominations from the membership on April 15th. Links for submitting nominations were included in the email as well as a reference to the election procedures found in the TACRAO Bylaws. Each of the Nominees were contacted via email the week of May 17 to confirm their interest and willingness to proceed with nomination. Each nominee for an Executive Committee position was asked to submit the TACRAO Bio and Activity Form by June 4 for use in selecting a slate of nominees and for use during the election.

N&E met virtually on June 23 to review qualifications of the nominees. The VP for Admissions, Secretary, and N&E Committee positions had more nominees than could be placed on the ballot. The Committee tried to balance qualification for the position with fair representation in the membership regarding such factors as areas of expertise, type of institution, and geographical balance. Recommendations for a slate of candidates was submitted to the TEC on June 28.

President-elect:

Melinda Carroll

North Central Texas College

Vice President for Admissions:

Andi Scott	UTRGV
Chris Reed	Texas A&M University – College Station
Leah Hickman	Midwestern State University

Secretary:

Brandy Piner	UTHSC – San Antonio
Jodie Rexroat	Dallas College
Truman Glenn	UT – Austin

N&E Committee:

Troy White	East Texas Baptist University
Sofia Almeda Montes	UTRGV
Anne Delgado	UTHSC – San Antonio
Tiffany Lipscomb	University of North Texas
Melissa Hyatt	Texas State University
Georgina Antillon	UT – El Paso
Brandi Havens	Clarendon College

Per approval by the TEC, the TACRAO member list was provided to VoteNow on July 27. Voting began on August 2 and closed at noon on August 11 using VoteNow technologies. Names of candidates were randomized within each position when membership logged in to vote. Membership was directed to contact Jamie Hansard with any questions related to the election.

Results of the election were provided from VoteNow on August 12 and announced to the TACRAO membership via the listserv. 304 members participated in voting.

TACRAO Executive Committee Results:

President-elect:	Melinda Carroll	North Central Texas College
Vice President for Admissions:	Chris Reed	Texas A&M University – Coll Sta
Secretary:	Brandy Piner	UTHSC – San Antonio

TACRAO Nominations and Elections Committee Results:

Melissa Hyatt – chair elect Troy White Sofia Almeda Montes Georgina Antillon Texas State University East Texas Baptist University UTRGV UT – El Paso

The Committee supports the recommendations made by the previous committee. Thank you for the opportunity to serve TACRAO on this committee.

Respectfully submitted,

Michelle Walker, Texas A&M University, Chair