TACRAO 2022 Nominations and Elections Committee Report

The 2022 Nominations and Elections Committee members were: Rebecca (Becki) Griffith, chair, Melissa Hyatt (original chair-elect), Sofia Almeda (chair-elect upon Melissa's resignation from N&E in July, to accept the VP of Technology nomination), Troy White, and Georgina Antillon.

In April 2022, the N&E Committee approved the following timeline for the nomination and election cycle:

- May 11 June 7 Electronic nomination Forms open to members; announcements encouraging nominations each Monday in the period (see below)
- June 8-15 Notified nominees, providing the Interest Form link to those who agree to be considered
- June 22 Interest Forms due uploaded to Teams N&E site for committee review
- June 29 Teams meeting with committee members to determine slate to be recommended to TEC
- July 5-8 Recommended slate emailed to TEC

The following nominations were sought:

President-Elect
Vice President for Records and Registration
Treasurer
Vice President for Technology
2023 Nominations and Elections Committee Member

Emails encouraging nomination of qualified members were sent to active members using MemberClicks functionality (assistance provided by the current VP-T). Emails were also sent via the TACRAO listserv. Links for submitting nominations were included in the emails as well as a reference to the election procedures found in the TACRAO Bylaws. Each of the Nominees were contacted via email starting June 8 to confirm their interest and willingness to proceed with nomination. Each nominee for an Executive Committee position was asked to submit the TACRAO Interest Form by June 4 for use in selecting a slate of nominees and for use during the election. One nomination was made by an honorary member; future committees are reminded that only active members are eligible to nominate other active members for officer and N&E roles. In this case, an active member later nominated the same individual for the same role.

N&E met virtually on June 29 to review qualifications of the nominees. The VP for Records and Registration role had four nominees, one of whom declined. The Treasurer role had two nominees, one of whom declined. The VP for Technology had two nominees. The President-Elect role had seven nominees, four of whom declined. The Committee declined to recommend one of the P-E nominees due to limited experience in the association. Two of the interested nominees for VP/Treasurer roles received nominations for more than one of the open offices. The Committee gauged the interest and accomplishments of the nominees who received more than one nomination and recommended candidates for the role the committee felt was the best fit, since preferences were not declared by these nominees. Only six nominations for the next N&E Committee were made by membership, so one of the officer nominees who declined was approached and agreed to run for N&E. The Committee tried to balance qualification for the position with fair representation in the membership regarding such factors as prior experience, areas of expertise, type of institution, and geographical balance. Recommendations for the following slate of candidates was submitted to the TEC on July 8:

President-elect:

Bobbie Brown Texas Tech University

Justin Schilke Rice University

Vice President for Records and Registration:

Scott Branum Galveston College Brandi Havens Clarendon College

Treasurer:

Truman Glenn The University of Texas at Austin

Vice President for Technology:

Melissa Hyatt Texas State University (San Marcos)

N&E Committee:

Jennifer Beal North Central Texas College

Maggie Cano Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi

Nickolaus Cioci Lamar University

Houston Community College Mary Lemberg

University of North Texas Health Science Center Rebeca Perfecto

The University of Texas at Austin Brenda Schumann

Carl Husband Lee College

Per approval by the TEC, the TACRAO member list was provided to VoteNow in July. Voting began on August 22 and closed at noon on August 29 using VoteNow technologies. Names of candidates were randomized within each position when membership logged in to vote. Membership was directed to contact Paige Bussell with any questions related to the election.

Results of the election were provided from VoteNow on Sept. 2 and announced to the TACRAO membership via the listsery (by TACRAO President Paige Bussell), 354 members participated in voting (17% of the 2083 voting members).

TACRAO Executive Committee Results:

President-Elect: **Bobbie Brown** Texas Tech

Scott Branum Vice President for Records and Registration: Galveston College

Melissa Hyatt Texas State University-Vice President of Technology:

San Marcos

Truman Glenn Treasurer: The University of Texas at Austin

TACRAO Nominations and Elections Committee Results:

UTRGV (*rolls forward from 2021 election) Sofia Almeda Montes (Chair*) Maggie Cano (Chair-Elect) Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

North Central Texas College Jennifer Beal The University of Texas at Austin Brenda Schumann

Mary Lemberg **Houston Community College**

Recommendations:

The current N&E process does allow our membership to shape the leadership. Participation is not as robust as might be hoped, and it would be good for all TACRAO leaders to include a message of "get involved – nominate and vote" as often as possible when addressing membership.

The association might benefit from developing recorded N&E procedures that allow the committee to officially consider the nominations for other factors (balance of diversity in regional, institution type, and bio/dem characteristics) before making recommendations to the executive committee.

Further, the association might benefit from determining a "campaign period" wherein the nominees present their qualifications to the membership (digitally) to give the voting members more information on their choices (even if a candidate is unopposed, this might lead to the submission of qualified write in candidates). Candidates might also present not just their background and interest statements, but also list other board positions currently or previously held, institutional obligations, etc. to help voting members in formulating decisions about the candidate's ability to lead.

For the first time, we used Microsoft Teams to help the N&E members meet, see, and discuss all the documents, responses from nominees, updates to timeline, etc. I believe Sofia Montes plans to continue this practice going forward (as chair for 2023).

It was a pleasure to serve TACRAO as chair of this committee.

Respectfully submitted,

Becki Griffith, Tarrant County College, Chair