TACRAO Strategic Enrollment Management Report

Submitted by: Chrissy Gonzalez, Committee Chair (Texas A&M University – Texarkana)

SEM Committee Session Planning

The 2021 – 2022 SEM Committee met at the annual TACRAO working luncheon and discussed possible workshop presenters for the 2022 TACRAO Annual Conference. There was a quick change in the workshop presenter at the last minute for the 2020 - 2021 TACRAO Annual Conference due to health reasons by the presenter. That presenter did express interest in doing the workshop for the 2022 TACRAO Annual Conference. Each member of the committee agreed this would be a simple and smart idea, so we agreed to accept him.

2022 SEM Pre-Conference Workshop

When I reached out to the potential presenter using the email I had for him, it was returned stating that the email no longer existed. I found out that the potential presenter no longer worked for the institution that was listed on the email. An attempt was made to get his new place of employment/email address to no avail. The committee was contacted, and we tossed around different ideas on who our workshop presenter would be. Committee member Sherry Wells put out a call for workshop presenters and was lead to Jody Gordon, AACRAO Managing Consultant, who has done multiple SEM workshop sessions. Jody has a vast experience in higher education and enrollment services. The SEM committee all agreed on Jody for our workshop presenter and from the minute we contacted Jody she has been extremely responsive and helpful.

Fred Russell SEM Scholarship

The scholarship application was opened in the first week of August. Normally the call for applicants is put out in July however we tried a new way to collect the applications. We decided to put it on the TACRAO website using a form created by Justin Schilke, TACRAO Vice President for Technology. Justin put a notice that the application was live using member clicks through the TACRAO website. The first notification stated that the amount awarded was \$500; however, the executive committee notified us that the amount awarded to \$600, and a corrected email was sent out.

There were 27 applications submitted for consideration. The SEM committee was emailed each application with a survey link through Qualtrics and asked to select 6 applicants. The survey results resulted in the following recipients:

Destiny Jones – University of Texas at San Antonio - destiny.jones@utsa.edu Loida Gonzalez Utley – Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi - loida.utley@tamucc.edu Ashley Barelas-Garcia – University of Houston – Victoria - barelasgarciaa@uhv.edu Shayla Andrews – Collin County Community College - shaylaandrews@collin.edu Brian Casey Jones – Texas Tech University Graduate School - brian.casey.jones@ttu.edu Zaria Kelley – University of Texas – Arlington - zaria.kelley@uta.edu

Each recipient accepted the scholarship and will be attending the full conference to include the SEM workshop.

Notes:

I wanted to point out that Chris Reed, TACRAO Vice President for Admissions and Paige Bussell, TACRAO President, helped extensively during the year.

Two of the SEM committee members' commitments have expired, and two new members have been added. Here is our current SEM Standing Committee:

Name	Institution	Email
Chrissy Gonzalez, Chair	Texas A&M University-Texarkana	cgonzalez@tamut.edu
Evelyn Martinez	The University of Texas at San Antonio	evelyn.martinez@utsa.edu
Brenda Schumann	University of Texas at Austin	brenda.schumann@austin.utexas.edu
Jodi Torrez	The University of Texas at Austin	jodi.torrez@austin.utexas.edu
Tammy Denny	Trinity Valley Community College	tdenney@tvcc.edu
Diane Brice	West Texas A&M University	dbrice@wtamu.edu
Leah Hickman	Midwestern State University	leah.hickman@msutexas.edu